Mickey’s Christmas Carol

Standard

I have such a soft spot for Mickey Mouse. I remember going to Disneyland as a child when we lived in California.  When Disney World opened October 1, 1971 just an hour from where we had moved to in Florida, I was in heaven. But my most favorite Mickey fix was the old vintage cartoons. You don’t see them anymore which is sad. I was also a fan of the Mickey Mouse Club. I thought I looked like Annette Funicello. It was those Italian eyebrows (sadly, it was her nose).  Of course she was much older than I was.

Annette Funicello in The Mickey Mouse Club

This animated version was made in 1983, the first theatrical cartoon produced in over thirty years, and it was the last time you would hear the voice of Clarence Nash as Donald Duck.  He was the last of the famous Disney voices. I wasn’t a mom yet, but  I loved cartoons. Having children made it a lot easier to justify buying them again and I know that’s when I bought this one. I have loved it ever since. And seriously…who can’t picture Scrooge McDuck as Ebeneezer, his alter ego. This is a trip down Nostalgia Lane for me I’m afraid, thanks for traveling with me!  Tomorrow I reveal one of my two favorite versions of A Christmas Carol. 

One response »

Leave a Reply

