A Christmas Carol (1951)

Standard

This movie was originally titled Scrooge in Great Britain, they changed the title to A Christmas Carol when it premiered in Los Angeles. It had disappointing box office returns in the U.S.  but was a huge hit in England in 1952. Alistair Sim plays Mr. Scrooge in this very popular version and most would agree he is the best, but not to me.

This IS a wonderful version. I love the charwoman, Mrs. Dilber. When Ebeneezer wakes up from his night of frolicking: he is giddy and dances madly around the room, and looks completely insane to poor Mrs. Dilber. He grabs her to spin around, and she sees her life pass before her eyes, shrieking at the top of her lungs. It’s one of my favorite scenes because seldom does any servant get noticed or rewarded in any of these films. Just imagine what that poor woman must have put up with!

My two favorite “Scrooges” are coming up in the days ahead. I’ve often wondered what it would be like if I could combine all my favorite moments in all the “Carol” films into one movie. Bet it would be a block buster! Each film has characters brought to life or highlighted that were not in Charles Dickens book. That is why I re-read it every Christmas to remind myself what really happened. Soon I will know the dialogue by heart.

We left Zippy at home while we ran around today. I returned home for something I forgot, and as I’m inserting the key, Zippy trots up to the glass door, looking happy as a clam with a pot holder hanging out of his mouth, like a bone. I laughed until my stomach hurt…he looked deliriously happy. I try not to think about how he got it.

Zippy is having aging issues that involve his hind legs and my daughter was lamenting his slower gait. After we arrived home, I tossed a toy to Zippy and he blitzed back and forth in excitement. My daughter couldn’t believe it was the same dog. I know I couldn’t do that. Well, I’ve never been able to do that, come to think of it. Happiness and joy gave him the ability. It’s something to think about isn’t it?

One response »

Leave a Reply

