Miracle on 34th Street (1994)

Standard

This film is definitely a feast for the eyes visually, but that is where my admiration ends. There is so much wrong with this version I don’t know where to start. Maybe with John Hughes? He always adds a bit of sleeze to his films, like the drunk that accuses Santa of liking his assistant “elf” a little too much. Yuck! That has no place in a holiday film as classic as this one. Or maybe the casting? Mara Wilson, as cute as she was, can’t hold a candle to the magic of Natalie Wood. David Attenborough as Santa? His teeth bothered me, and  the dialogue in this film was awful.

My daughter loves this version, so it holds a special place on my list. She was nine when I took her to the movies to see this. No boys allowed. Actually, I couldn’t have paid them to go.  According to my daughter, the black and white version can’t hold a candle to this one. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. This holds wonderful memories of time spent with her every year watching it.

My lovely daughter and I decorated our tiny tree ( a Norfolk Pine) tonight. We visited old haunts today that were a yearly tradition, saw some reindeer, and enjoyed the brilliant sunshine that Fort Collins is famous for. The snow is almost gone. My old neighbors in the mountains, north of here, got ten and a half inches, but here, it will soon be a memory.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Miracle on 34th Street (1994 Film Review) « The Bishop Review

Leave a Reply

