Holiday Inn

Standard

This is another old (1942) movie I watch every Thanksgiving weekend. It is an Irving Berlin musical starring Bing Crosby, Fred Astaire, Marjorie Reynolds and Virginia Dale. This is the movie the iconic song “White Christmas” was introduced and it then went on to have it’s own movie.

I am not sure why I was so enamored by old movies as a kid, no one else in my family was, but I used to love to stay up late on weekends when all the old musicals and movies were on. I fell irrevocably in love with the style and class of Fred Astaire in the movie “Daddy Long Legs” with Leslie Caron and I was never the same again. I always had a secret desire to be a professional dancer and would spend hours in front of my bedroom mirror singing and dancing to it’s reflection…with Fred of course.

Bing’s character is fed up with the show business grind and retires to a farm in Connecticut. After discovering farm life is a different kind of nightmare (they refer to his stay in the sanitarium, and exploding preserves he put up himself) he decides to make the farm pay for itself by turning it into The Holiday Inn. His old show business partners think he is crazy.

It’s the best of both worlds because it touches on all the holidays while creating a backdrop for great singing and dancing by Bing and Fred and their partners. There is competition for the girl(s) and lots of comedy thrown in. Even though Bing’s housekeeper (played by Louise Beavers) at the Inn is playing a stereotypical role for African Americans of that era, she is treated like a contemporary. Although I found the black face number disconcerting. She plays Mamie, with two adorable children and is Bing’s confidant.

Fred Astaire does one of his most famous dance numbers inspired by fire crackers at the 4th of July performance and watching Fred trying to identify a woman he has only seen from the back on a crowded dance floor is not to be missed. This is a charming movie I never get tired of.

Today will be day of relaxing and doing what I want. We had a mouse in the house last night and my friend gets freaked out by them. We were problem solving last night and laughing the whole time. Could it have gotten in here…or here? Or the million and one other little holes and crevices in a vintage house?! There is an ominous closet that she has heard some rustlings from. I told her I’d clean it out for her. Meaning…I’ll touch the stuff.

My friend had an incident in her past where she was in the shower and one came up through the drain and she ran screaming. That would creep anyone out! Of course this was in Chicago, the mice are more nervy there. So we will head to ACE Hardware to explore mouse exterminators. Laughing all the way!

3 responses »

  1. This one’s on my list to watch. I have seen it come through several times at the library, but it hasn’t taken priority yet. It will soon though! I checked out the new version of “Miracle on 34th St.” today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

