The Countdown is Coming!

Standard

Where has the last week gone? I am now working in a large department store for the holidays and the craziness is starting. I also dog/house sat for my friend and totally got thrown off my routine. You don’t realize how you are ruled by them until you change your’s. My friend’s home is a beautifully restored cottage in the heart of what they call Old Town, Ft. Collins. I love the neighborhood and it brings back fond memories of our first home some blocks away, where my kids were born, and the laid back pace. I am so behind in my blog reading not to mention posting. I hope this isn’t a trend.

I spent a lot of the week walking Zippy around the neighborhood and enjoying gorgeous fall weather. The neighbors are friendly, wave hello, and college students whiz back and forth on their bikes. On one walk I noticed an autographed piece of sidewalk signed and dated 1925. It made me imagine what the neighborhoods were like back then.

I love the architecture in the old neighborhoods but prefer living in a renovated classic having lived in a “charming” one that wasn’t. My children have fond memories of that house so I guess that’s all that matters. I was a bit wistful driving by it however. I know our life would have turned out differently had we stayed put instead of moving on to greener pastures that turned out not-so-green. “If only’s”  are part of the grieving process and closing doors, moving on.

I’ve become much too cynical in the past few years and so it came as a surprise to me how much I was looking forward to the holiday build up on the Hallmark channel. They kicked off the Holiday Countdown last Saturday with Love at the Thanksgiving Day Parade. Most of the time they are trite, cheesy, predictable love stories.

I used to love Christmas but now will settle for the excitement and “pretend” of the Hallmark channel. I was pleasantly surprised with the premier of Love at the Thanksgiving Day Parade. This movie was completely stolen by the performance of a wonderful actress named Autumn Reeser. The story is a bit of Miracle on 34th Street,  a little of While You Were Sleeping with a dash of You’ve Got Mail thrown in. There are lots of quirks to make this story more interesting than the usual fare and I loved it.
I have a large collection of holiday movies and I watch one every day from Thanksgiving until New Years day. I start with the original version of Miracle on 34th Street on Thanksgiving day, then by Christmas day watch all the versions of A Christmas Carol (my personal favorite)and then round-up the end of the year with The Apartment.

I decided to share the bounty and blog about them this holiday season. It may sound boring but there are classics like Mr. Magoo’s Christmas Carol to look forward to. It also had my kids run screaming from the room but it’s dear to my heart. It’s not that these are all great movies (some are) but they bring back nostalgic memories and feelings. There’s  even a couple Hanukkah movies in honor of my Jewish friends. You’ll learn about the wonderful Jewish family I grew up next door to as a kid.

My daughter is visiting for Christmas so I’ll have both my kids together for the first time in a while. I wonder which ones I’ll make them, uhh I mean invite them to watch with me. Now that’s something to get excited about. Stay tuned…

9 responses »

  1. I am actually excited to all be together and watch Christmas movies! It’s funny now that you are in a different state, I am nostalgic for Christmas movies. I just ordered quite a few for the library, and am eagerly looking forward to watching them. It’s funny how a change such as a family member moving away can make yo miss and want to keep up traditions that you may not have previously enjoyed. I can’t wait to decorate the house, I am so glad I have all the decorations!

  2. Christmas has a way of merging our thoughts from the past and present. The anticipation vs expectation. I love your idea of looking at Christmas movies – my favorite is all the iterations of “A Christmas Carol.” One thing is certain – holiday cheer is real and lasting, because it is not about a specific season – it is about hope that comes from unexpected places: from a smile, a conversation, music, art, knowledge exchange. “Maybe Christmas, the Grinch thought, doesn’t come from a store.” Dr. Seuss (I look forward to every one of your posts)

  3. What a fun tradition of your movies! I haven’t even heard of several of them, so may just have to check them out soon!

    I’ve driven through Ft Collins, and it was so beautiful there. It sounds very Hallmark-ish itself! 😉

Leave a Reply

