Respite From Stress

Standard

Rainy and forty-eight degrees out today, what’s a person to do? Well, there’s the Hallmark channel. I’m a sucker for happy endings, but there are  too many reruns. I’ve become a Hallmark junkie since being introduced to cable. Pathetic, I know. I’ve never had cable before, never wanted it, reading has always been my entertainment but it seems my horizons are being expanded daily. Really? Hallmark???! Hopefully it is just a phase. A kind of reality denial?

My favorite blog, Truth and Cake ran a contest for J.K. Rowling’s new book and I won a copy. Thanks again Rian! I didn’t nominate her site this time because she’s been Freshly Pressed twice (her very first blog-wow) and I wanted to give exposure to other blogs who don’t have as big a following. Stop by her blog, you’ll enjoy her vibrance.

J. K. Rowling is calling to me as I speak so I will heed her siren and curl up on the couch with a blanket and  my very own copy of  “The Casual Vacancy”. It’s been a while since I’ve done this, so I hope I remember how. Oh yeah…now it’s coming back to me. Shoes off, couch, recline, snuggle.

I Also picked up Margaret Mayhew’s newest Village Mystery called “Dry Bones”. This book has a lot of “cozy” elements (although I haven’t read the first two).  I am crazy about anything British. I love the BBC and I would gladly marry Colin Firth (or even do his laundry) but I heard his wife does that. Rats!  A friend did my genealogy and all of my mom’s family migrated to America from England so my obsession was no surprise.

I finished “The Life Boat” by Charlotte Rogan and it was so-so, but intense. It reminded me of  a  modern (1914) version of “Mutiny on the Bounty”. It was rather dark and not what I would call a victorious story.  People fighting to stay alive, acknowledging that some have to die for that to happen. Grace, the 22 year old heroine, was not very likeable, is very complex and unpredictable. So was the ending. I was excited to read this but it was disappointing frankly but a pretty good try for a first time author.

I’m in the midst of “To Free a Family, the Journey of Mary Walker” by Sydney Nathans. A female slave escapes from North Carolina, leaving behind her children and mother. She ends up in Philadelphia and is determined to reunite with her family. She spends the rest of her life doing just that. It’s well researched and riveting so far. It reminded me to put “Slaves in the White House” on hold.

Hope you are curling up to do something you love today. We all need a respite from the busyness of life and the epidemic of stress that is running rampant right now. Take care of yourselves!

6 responses »

      • Yeah, you can’t start those too soon. It could be bad if you ran out of versions to watch before Christmas. Even though I know you re-watch them 🙂

Leave a Reply

