Back to Books

Standard

I am settling in to my routine. Job search, eat, change resume, job search, change cover letter, eat, computer class, homework so I can ultimately reward myself with eating and reading, but before I start the stories on my girls, I want to update you on some books. Remember those?

I liked “Beach Colors” by Shelley Noble. This author is a former dancer and choreographer but chose to write about the fashion industry, hence the title. Although I would have rather read about dancers, she did a good job of creating a start over for Margaux, the star of this story. She loses everything to a loser husband and returns home to her small Connecticut home near the sea.

I can’t get enough of these books. If it has sea, ocean, beach or even cottage in the title, I’m hooked. Oh yeah, and Maine. (Although my friend that goes to college inland there, assured me that the coast is the only mesmerizing part of Maine). Anyway, Margaux licks her wounds, reconnects with her mom and friends and discovers that the brooding local police chief  (I know…) gives her the shivers. Add a traumatized six year old boy (the chief’s nephew) who only whispers and you have more than a decent read. Well written with good characterizations. Shelley is not just good at dancing.

I got a new library card and will baptize it (sorry) with Philip Gully’s newest pew rocker, “The Evolution of Faith: How God is Creating a New Christianity”, “The Color of Tea” by Hannah Tunnicliffe, “The Shoemaker’s Wife” by Adriana Trigiani and yes, you guessed it…”The Cottage at Glass Beach” by Barbieri.

Some (first time authors) new books to be released in August, which sound fabulous, are “City of Women”, a historical thriller about the city of Berlin emptied of men during WWll, with movie rights already sold! I look forward to M. L. Stedman’s book “The Light Between Oceans” about a couple in Australia who decided to raise a child found on the island where they are lighthouse keepers during WWl, and a fictional memoir called “In the Shadow of the Banyan” about the 1970’s Khmer Rouge Cambodian genocide by Vaddey Ratner, who was minor royalty at the time.

Yum, lots to look forward to between living.

Leave a Reply

