Living In The Present

Standard

This is my friend TC’s favorite children’s book. I always tell her she reminded me of “Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm” as a child because she was so fair with long blonde hair and the cutest darn freckles that ever marched across a nose. I’ve been thinking a lot today about our long history. The past two months have not been without adjustments and I give her a lot of credit for being so willing to put herself out there for me. Me living here effects every routine that TC and her husband have. Granted, I try hard to minimize that and be as helpful as possible but there are still lots of give and take. It’s easy to be self absorbed in my position and I have to be careful about that. Expectations have to be paraded around often to see how they match up and communication is crucial. Who needs the frustration? Certainly not them. We do manage to have fun though and laughter has been the best medicine for me.

TC leaves for a visit with her parents tomorrow. Her mom is failing and she often travels back to help out. My mother passed away last October but I was not in a position to help. TC is  a great daughter and takes care to see them often. It feels bittersweet when we talk about how it used to be. It’s easy to live in the past as you get older, things looked so shiny and new back then and time has a way of softening hard edges, but the fact remains that life can be tough no matter what age, no matter what year and no matter who we are with. Life must be lived going forward, in the present. That’s why it’s so nice to be with people who have your back. I got yours TB.

I signed up to volunteer at the new public library that is opening in town. They have no formal funding yet so they are dependent solely on volunteers and donations. I got a call inviting me to jump in and will start next Saturday with sorting. I can walk or bike thankfully and I am pathetically excited to be doing something (anything) with a library. It’s nice to be needed. Speaking of books…our book club choice (TC’s) for June is the 2009 version of “The Birth Order Book, Why You Are The Way You Are” by Kevin Lehman. I read this book a long time ago and it has always intrigued me and I refer to it a lot. People are naturally curious about this subject and always ask me about it. I’m looking forward to reading the latest research on this. I’m leaning towards “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel” for my choice in July, or maybe “Stones for Ibarrra” by Harriet Doerr. I need to get going on “Snobs” and the next Tarzan book came in Edgar Rice Burroughs’ series. Better start cutting back on house work (just kidding T).

One response »

Leave a Reply

