Heart Smiles

Standard

I reluctantly finished “Tarzan of the Apes” and I am surprised that I want to read the next in the series. I didn’t want the story to end and it doesn’t! “The Return of Tarzan” is in my immediate future. I will be starting a library mystery or “Snobs” by Julian Fellowes tomorrow after I do chores. Hmmm hope I can stick to that. I also have homework so it’s a good thing there is 100% chance of rain. Bianca got cut and blown today at the groomer and is irresistible with tiny black bows with white poka dots. Like she’s not cute enough, now she smells great too.

I walked to the park by myself yesterday. Bianca is too pokey and can be distracting. I’ve walked every day this week and I’m feeling great. There is a leafy, shaded trail that I walk through that ends at the green. When I arrived there were numerous little league games going on and the park was also hosting a nature day. They had set up eight stations that kids could visit (via a map) and observe wild things that lived in the park. I was passing by the adjacent parking lot when a compact pulled up and a large, pewter colored Weimaraner exploded out of the car and headed to the dog park fence. His ears flew straight out behind him as I stood stupefied watching. He knew exactly where he was going and how to get there. His owner wearily chased after him with the leash. My heart smiled watching this.

I headed back on the trail and passed a mom with two young boys and she was begging them to keep moving to the last station. The boys were mesmerized by a pile of silly string on the path. Nature wasn’t going to compete with this miracle. I chuckled and gave the mom a sympathetic shrug as I passed by. Another smile crept into my chest. Getting in shape is not the only benefit of walking.

Leave a Reply

