Over The Rainbow

Standard

It has been cool and very windy.  Homes lost power and trees today. I went to the store this evening and it was raining, when I came out  there was the most glorious, double rainbow. I stood there mesmerized! The weather changes very quickly here but I find I enjoy it. The rainbows were a gift. Moss is a common side effect in the Pacific Northwest because of so much rain. They have to treat roofs to keep the moss from growing under the shingles. My bathroom overlooks the roof next door and it’s covered with little hummocks of moss. Despite the challenges moss presents I find it very charming. Rainbows and moss, two of many delights I have found here.

Bianca gets her stitches out on Saturday and is now able to go up and down the stairs without being carried. I was fortunate not to be the one to ferry her about, she doesn’t like being picked up. Her Cleopatra collar will soon be history (I love that play on words) and I find myself wondering if her royal qualities will disappear with it. We shall see.

I am very disappointed in my non-fiction selection “The Wanton West” and have decided to return it unfinished. I became enamored with people in the wild west that were less than sterling in character. Particularly women. I had the thrill of visiting a ghost town in Bodie, California many years ago on vacation. It is an abandoned mining camp high in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. It is now a historic landmark and an amazing glimpse back in time. There are rooms that have literally been abandoned with everything still there. You are able to tour the town and glimpse how life was in Bodie when gold was discovered around 1859. The town flourished until 1880 then had a steady population decline until the early 1900’s. In the 40’s they decided to preserve what was left after miners abandoned the town for greener pastures

Mining towns were known for their bawdiness and prostitution. While visiting Bodie I became fascinated with the story of Rosa May and bought a book about her. She was a prostitute that had left letters behind that shared some of her sad life. The fact is many women turned to prostitution, or were forced into it because of circumstances beyond their control. She was credited with giving life saving nursing to many during an epidemic yet her stark, lonely grave is found far from the “respectable” people buried in the fenced, town cemetery and it haunts me still. It overshadowed any other experience I had there.

At any rate I didn’t think “Wanton West” was very well written and I didn’t find it nearly as interesting. These women are sad reminders of lives ruled by the capriciousness of men and societies that abandoned them to their fates and yet they were an integral part of the pioneering spirit that settled our mother land, forever a part of our history where ever they are buried.

Leave a Reply

