Itchy and twitchy

Standard

That’s how I’m feelin being away from my besties. Books. My muse, my inspiration, the air that I breathe. You get the picture. It’s not enough to be around them or read them, I HAVE to talk about them. Even if no one listens…so I started a blog. It’s great! I can pretend that there are all sorts of bright, erudite individuals just waiting for my next editorial. And if there aren’t?  It’s no biggie. I can just ignore the stats and pretend. It’s like having my own little set of book groupies. Who cares if I make them up? I don’t, do you?

I am working on job apps every day and it’s like being in math class for me. I’m what you’d call a math phobic. Mention word problems and I start to get light headed. I applied for a job today that I really, really want. I think it’s the perfect fit for me and for the employer. It’s a matter of convincing them of that. That is where the trouble starts. Getting the idea across on paper/computer how fabulous you are and how lucky they would be to have you on their staff. You don’t want to sound arrogant but you don’t want to sound desperate and needy either. It really comes down to brain biology. I am not wired for math but I am wired for books. I’m also very outgoing and creative which is usually why higher math makes no sense and bores me silly. But give me a biography about the man who first designed the abacus and I’m there! It’s all how you read it (sorry).

Take for instance narrowing down working in a small town library vs. a large town. They both have advantages and disadvantages. I’ve been fortunate to work in both and that is why I know I’d be happier working in a small town library. They tend to be more creative and allow more movement in job tasking and are more intimate. I LOVE to visit and talk about books, and recommend them and have them recommended to me, plus sort, arrange and touch them. Yeah-yeah I’d marry them if I could. The library I’m interested in is on an island. I grew up on an island and can’t think of a better way to get back to my roots. I know that we end up where we need to be and not always where we want to be so I’m REALLY hoping someone needs me at that library. But it’s all good…either way I win as long as I end up in a job surrounded by books. I really miss working for them, I mean with. I really meant with. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

