I’ve Arrived

Standard

My belongings arrived today.  A day late. We were cringing as the mover placed someone else’s stuff out in the rain while he unloaded mine. It felt good to see my things but I was dismayed to see how little I had. Can’t say I miss “stuff” and have simplified my life. Saw my niece and we talked for three hours and we have made plans to  visit Powell’s, the famous book store in downtown Portland. It’s great being in the Pacific Northwest.

I got the sweetest email today, from a woman from my old book club in Iowa. I have made some great friendships there. Her name is Stephanie and she has two adorable preschoolers that I got to hang out with. She told me they were taking a walk at sunset and her oldest  said “Marsella is so lucky she gets to watch the sun drop off into the ocean at night”. Isn’t that wonderful? I also got a fantastic Anne Geddes e-card from Sandy,another of my awesome book club members that really touched me. Isn’t technology wonderful? AND I got a refund from my doctor…that never happens. It was a great day!

I drove Telva’s car for the first time today and thought I was doing great until she told me I’d better “punch” it. Evidently going the speed limit can get  you mowed over. I’ll have to work on my punching. I found jobs to apply for, even one on San Juan Island that I’ve got to apply for as well as some local options. It’s looking good. I realized that I am too passionate about libraries and reading to do anything else.

I finally finished “Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey” by The Countess of Carnarvon. The content  of this book was a pleasant surprise.  The British aristocracy during the Victorian and Edwardian eras were rich and self-indulgent. What was most impressive were the  wonderful contributions the Carnarvons made with their wealth. The 5th Earl and Countess of Carnarvon were the family that inspired the “Downton Abbey” hit series on the BBC. Their castle is used for the backdrop of the story.  Lady Almina was expected to live her life vacuously but instead she decided to make a difference. She chose to open her home to the WWl wounded and provided a clean, restful, place for soldiers to heal with the best of care. She spared no expense. The background information on “The Great War” was meticulous and well done.

The 5th Earl of Carnarvon was more typical of the rich, bored and restless gentry. What redeemed him was the financial underwriting and discovery of the tomb of Tutankhamun. One of the greatest archaeological discoveries of all time. I loved every minute of that story. This book has a lot more depth (and great pictures) than one would expect and well worth the time. Cheerio!

2 responses »

  1. I have my fingers crossed for that job! I have the Lady Almina book on my list for the next book selection committee meeting. Sounds right up my alley! Hope the librarian will agree.

    • The way I see it, its all practice. I have nothing to lose. I saw another book along the same lines book that was about all the American heiresses who got sold for British titles and it sounded great too. I’m going to Powell’s soon and I’ll look for it. Thanks for the support!

Leave a Reply

