Life in boxes.

Standard

I looked at my small mound of boxes this morning and marveled yet again how one’s life can be easily moved from one place to another.  I have paired down belongings to only that which I can’t live without. For this year anyway. The true sign of aging is when you find yourself getting rid of something because you don’t want to move it anymore.  How important is it really when you will be schlepping it up a flight of stairs? Of course I’m hoping there will be elevators where I end up. I became vicious when throwing away old school stuff from my kids. They told me they really don’t want to see what their grades were in the second grade. I must admit it’s much easier to part with when they are grown ups although I did get a  little choked up at the art projects.

I found myself looking at rain coats  from a catalog yesterday. A sure sign that I am mentally preparing myself for lots of rain. I am ashamed to admit that I thought Portland was much further south than it is, hence the rain. I’ve heard that it green all year long, something I haven’t experienced since growing up in Florida. That should be nice. I’m looking forward to being around water again too, although one of my favorite boys that comes to the library told me that they are predicting a tsunami soon. Love him. He also told me that I looked sick the day he saw me with no makeup. Really gotta love him.

I read a great book called “Bridge of Scarlet Leaves” by Kristina McMorris. It is a story about a Japanese family that is interred during WWll. What makes this story unique is that it is from a Caucasian woman’s perspective. She  marries a Japanese man and follows him to the camp. Very well done, it makes me want to hunt down her other book. The movers come soon so my books are dwindling and the time to blog, so excuse the delay of the next few days. I miss my books stacked around me. Miss you too.

One response »

  1. I hope you have a raincoat at the ready by the time you arrive in Portland. Yes, Portland is ‘way up there just across the Columbia River from Washington State, which is why our daughters live fairly close to each other. Hope you will love it there. You are so brave to take on this adventure!

Leave a Reply

