Civilian life

Standard

I feel like I just got out of the military. No more converting regular time to military time on my time sheet, no thinking about what “uniform” I’m going to wear to work tomorrow or is it clean and what will I fix for dinner? Well, I still have to figure out what to fix for dinner but it’s not nearly as annoying now that I’m not working. It’s a mixed bag because I’d much rather be working but I figure if I’m off, I might as well enjoy it. I took a trip to Sioux City this morning with my daughter and ate breakfast from the drive through, went out to lunch with a friend, and moved some papers off the kitchen table. Quite a productive day so far. My excuse is the weather. I’m just not motivated yet. Tomorrow it’s my birthday so I REALLY plan to be unproductive. I figure with all the offers of lunch and dinner I’m not going to dread cooking for a while.

My Ford Explorer is on Craig’s list and I’m getting phone calls from guys trying to nit-pick my car to pieces to get it cheaper but I”M no nit-wit. I’ve done my homework and know what it’s worth. I cleaned out the glove compartment (do you keep gloves in yours?) and found three copies of an expired proof of insurance and an expired registration. I got a call this afternoon from a woman about my ad and our conversation was so much easier and pleasant (and three times as long as with the gents) so I’m looking forward to showing it to her tomorrow. I wasn’t even embarrassed to tell her about the children’s golf club that stands in for the doo-hickey that holds up the hood when your head is under it. When I told her two of the tire hubs are missing and I’ve replaced them, only to have them come off again, she said that has happened to her too. You know this conversation would not happen with guys. Hope she buys my car, I have a good feeling about her.

I started “Started Early, Took My Dog by Kate Atkinson. She has such an unusual style of writing. I think I like it. I didn’t realize she is a British writer but it didn’t take me long to figure it out. I finished “Sonoma Rose” by Jennifer Chiaverini. This Elm Creek Quilt story takes place during prohibition and deals with wine making and the challenges grape growers had in Sonoma keeping family wineries going. That part was interesting but I found the characters flat and not that appealing. I have liked other books of hers better. I loved “The Aloha Quilt”.

And last but not least I am thankful for my wonderful co-workers who said goodbye with an amazing potluck and wonderful company. There were a few other surprises too that touched my heart. We had chips and dip, wonderful salads with cashews and ramen noodles. An impressive crock-pot collection of yummy meatloaf with an amazing glaze, porcupine meatballs and lasagne that were mouthwatering, tasty pork spare-ribs and cheesy potatoes and mac-n-cheese made by scratch. My favorite…the desserts. A beautiful spring bouquet painted on a sheet cake, Nestle’s bars, creme cheese brownies, cherry and strawberry cheesecake and chocolate muffins. Yum! I went home stuffed with joy that I’ve had the privilege to work with such great people. I’m lucky to carry them around in my heart always.

2 responses »

  1. I’m so happy that your last day at work was celebrated by those you’ve worked with for so long. Love the fact that you read “Aloha Quilt” and now you are moving to Aloha-land close to me. Hooray!

    With all that you have going on, it’s ok to be unproductive and enjoy your few days of peace and quiet. Take advantage! Welcome back to civilization!! 🙂

  2. Don’t worry I just found 3 expired proof of insurance cards in my glove compartment when I went to put the new one in 🙂

Leave a Reply

