Delicious, Bittersweet, Tangy, Spicy…

Standard

These are words I would use to describe Gabrielle Hamilton’s book “Blood, Bones and Butter”. Her education is diverse from the heady, artsy parties her flamboyant parents gave and being abandoned by her parents  after their divorce. She is thirteen and quickly learns she is on her own. She hits the floor running and you are along beside her in this wonderful rendering of a life that is quirky and harrowing at the same time. I am loving this book. More later.

I also am starting Jane Austen’s “Northanger Abbey” for next month’s book club. We will have a book and movie night too which is always popular. Then on to Meira Chand’s “Different Sky” and “Grange House” by Sarah Blake. If I am not enthralled with that I might start “Conquistadora” by Esmeralda Santiago. All books new to the library so it is very hard to limit myself to one book at a time. I know it sounds crazy but reading multiple books keeps my brains cells from feeling atrophied. It’s not for everyone but it seems to work for me. Ok…I don’t always read every word. If it doesn’t rivet me I will skim. To me that is the sign of a good book when you can’t bear to skip one delicious word.

I read very little during my days off and that is unusual but I was too busy playing Santa with last minute gifts to finish. You know what would  make a great gift? Reading certificates that allow you to sit around and read for as long as you want, or a jammy day that is spent in comfortable pajamas with a book in hand. Yum.

I was pleasantly surprised today when a young teen came in to get a library card with his dad. He wanted computer access and I assumed it was to go online. I was wrong though, he wanted it for his Kindle so he could down load books. Loved seeing that.  So I’ll ask you if you got an e-reader for Christmas and do you like to read (or not) books simultaneously?

One response »

  1. I do read multiple books at once too (on my NOOK). Sometimes my love for one book will takeover and I’ll leave the rest behind but I read for at least 3 hours a day on my commute so ido always stop at a chapter ending, its easy to move to another book. I usually read
    4-5 books a week

Leave a Reply

