Marsella Is a Scaredy Cat

Standard

[Originally posted October 24, 2011]

 

My kids refuse to watch scarey movies with me ( which pretty much eliminates all creepy movies) because I cover my face and then I beg them to tell me what happened. The ones that I did manage to suffer through were “The Shining”, “The Sentinel” and the one that scarred me forever…”The Exorcist”. I decided that it just wasn’t worth it to torture myself, especially if it was going to cost me money. This Saturday at 7pm is adult movie night featuring “Abbott and Costello. A chubby, hilarious, hapless hero who Dracula wants for a brain transplant. Just my speed! I’ll leave the horror movies to grownups.

 

I read a new murder mystery over the weekend by Louise Penny. It is the Chief Inspector Gamache series and takes place in Canada near Montreal. It is what one would call a cozy mystery ( what I call happy murder and mayhem) but I would say a little more sophisticated than most. Gamache has class and is a force to be reckoned with. A well loved, retired teacher is found murdered on Thanksgiving morning in a charming rural village south of Montreal. I liked the rookie that is sent to work with the admired Gamache and learns more than she bargained for. I’ll try the next one in this series and see what happens.

 

I am now engrossed in a non-fiction selection about a professor that decides to travel the Hudson River in a kayak. She intertwines her story with that of her mom who is dying from cancer. That sounds like an odd combination but she does a very good job moving back and forth. She is fearless and rather intimidating so her dialogue about her mom softens her somewhat. The Hudson was well known for pollution decades ago and has gone under a lot of transformation. I’m sure all the pricey real- estate located there didn’t hurt the cause. I’ll get the title to you next time. See you at the movies…Marsella

Leave a Reply

